The cost of AI documentation: pricing models in the German market, September 2026
Of twelve vendors with a German-language product page, six state a public price as of 7 September 2026 and six do not. Where a price is given it is almost always a monthly amount — but the unit differs: once explicitly per practice, once tied to a quota, and several times with no unit stated at all. This page collects what the vendor pages themselves say, and explains the items that sit beside the monthly figure.

Reviewed editorially against product behaviour and the stated primary sources; not individual medical or legal advice.
How this overview was made
On 7 September 2026 we read the product and pricing pages of twelve vendors that publish a German-language page for AI documentation in practices, and put into each cell only what stands there. Where a product page led to its own pricing page on the same domain, we followed it. There was no test, no enquiry and no weighting.
Where a page states no amount, the cell reads "not stated". That does not mean there is no price; it means it is not public. Two vendors say so explicitly and point to a personal quote.
Where a page states an amount but leaves open what it refers to, the table says that too. This vagueness is the most common reason why two monthly prices do not mean the same thing.
Public prices, read on 7 September 2026
The table scrolls sideways. One row per vendor, and in the last column what sits beside the monthly amount: setup, term, trial.
| Vendor | Public price on the vendor's own page | Unit as stated | VAT | Setup, term, trial |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| KiPT Voice (J Medical GmbH) | €49.99 on a twelve-month term, €59.99 cancellable monthly | per physician per month | plus VAT | no setup fee; the first 14 days are free |
| CGM one DokuAssistent | "Einführungspreise ab 49,- € monatlich" | not stated | not stated | a free one-month trial subscription according to the page |
| Noa Notes (Docplanner) | €59, €79, €89, €109 per package per month | packages Basis to Connect 3.0; unit not clearly stated | "zzgl. MwSt" (excluding VAT) | one-off setup €99 (Basis) or €199 (Connect); no trial stated |
| Nelly | software €199, €499, €799, €999 per package per month; payments package from €19 | "netto pro Monat" per package, with a quota of AI units; not stated as per physician | "netto" (excluding VAT) | no term, no setup, no trial stated |
| ki-fuer-die-praxis.de | "zwischen 35 € und 50 € pro Monat" per application; the KI-Box "ab 150 € monatlich" | per application; unit not stated | not stated | cancellable monthly; "kostenlos und unverbindlich für vier Wochen" |
| Docviant | €149 and €249 per month | explicitly per practice, not per physician | "Gemäß § 19 UStG wird keine Umsatzsteuer erhoben" | no minimum term, cancellable monthly; 14 days free, no card |
| Arztbrief.ai | "EUR 49,00 Monat" on the standard plan; above that "Preis auf Anfrage" | tied to a quota of up to 100 documents per month | not stated | five free test dictations; no term stated |
| Heidi Health | not stated; plans are named Kostenfrei, Premium, Praxis | not stated | not stated | 14 days free for Premium and Praxis according to the page |
| medatixx x.scribe | not stated | not stated | not stated | a free trial option for 28 days according to the page |
| tbs X-Scribe | not stated; a personal quote per client per month according to the page | per client per month | not stated | not stated |
| tomedo.Intelligence | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| doc-cirrus Tandem | not stated | not stated | not stated | not stated |
| ORPHEUS (IDM) | not stated | not stated | not stated | free registration to try it out according to the page |
All figures as stated on the vendor pages listed, without our own verification; quotation marks mark the page's own wording. "Not stated" means the page we read gives no amount. Prices without guarantee; the vendor's offer is what counts.
The four units that occur in this market
A monthly amount only becomes a number once it says what it is for. Four forms occur across the pages we read, and for the same practice they lead to very different totals.
- Per physician: the amount is multiplied by the number of people documenting. That is how KiPT Voice is priced.
- Per practice: one amount for the whole site, however many people use it. Docviant says so explicitly.
- Per package with a quota: the amount covers a stated volume, and beyond it you buy more. Nelly counts AI units, Arztbrief.ai a number of documents per month.
- With no stated unit: an amount is given, but not what it refers to. Among the pages we read this is the most common case.
What sits beside the monthly amount
Three items appear in the pages we read, and none of them is in the large number on the pricing page.
- Setup: of the twelve pages only Noa Notes states a one-off fee, €99 for the basic package and €199 for the Connect packages.
- Term: none of the pages we read states a binding minimum term. Two vendors advertise being cancellable monthly; KiPT Voice ties the lower of its own two prices to a twelve-month term.
- VAT: three pages say explicitly that the amount is net, one invokes § 19 of the German VAT act, the rest say nothing. A net figure and a gross figure are not a comparison.
What the price does not include
The cost of an introduction is not only the subscription. Three items the practice carries itself, and they are on no pricing page: the time to brief the team, the time to review the drafts, which is part of the documentation, and, if the processing is to happen in the practice, a computer that is up to it.
We deliberately give no figure for that. How long a review takes depends on the specialty, the conversation and the person; any number we named here would be a claim about someone else's practice. A pilot in your own consulting room answers it, and the twelve questions for AI documentation software are the frame for that.
Nor does a pricing page say what switching costs. A tool that sits inside your own practice software is tied to it; a stand-alone tool is not. Which of the two ties is more expensive only becomes clear when one of them has to be undone.
What KiPT Voice costs
KiPT Voice costs €49.99 per physician per month plus VAT on a twelve-month term, or €59.99 per physician per month plus VAT cancellable monthly. The first 14 days are free, there is no setup fee and no quota of recordings or documents.
The amount is tied to people, not to the site: a practice with three documenting physicians pays three times. That is more expensive than a per-practice price for a large practice and cheaper for a small one; we say it here so the comparison with the rows above and below holds. The full conditions are on the KiPT Voice pricing page.
Frequently asked questions
Why do so many vendors state no price?
That is each vendor's own decision and says nothing about the level. Six of the twelve pages we read state no amount; two of them point explicitly to a personal quote. Anyone who needs a figure has to ask there.
Is a per-practice price cheaper than a per-physician price?
It depends on how many people document. A per-practice amount is cheaper above a certain number and more expensive below it. Without that number, comparing two monthly amounts is a feeling, not a calculation.
Are the amounts net or gross?
It varies, and several pages do not say. Three state the amount as net explicitly, one invokes § 19 of the German VAT act. For the rest it is not on the page we read; asking is worth it, because it can matter more than the list price.
How often do you re-check these prices?
The read date is on the table. We check the figures at least quarterly and whenever a change comes to our attention. Corrections are welcome by email and are added with a date.
Does AI documentation pay off for a small practice?
No vendor page can answer that, and neither can ours. It depends on how much documentation work currently falls outside the consultation and how much of it a draft takes off — a draft that still has to be reviewed. A free trial in your own practice is the only reliable answer.